Gettin’ Outta Dodge

DSC_0742Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

– Robert Frost

I turned 36 on October 12, 2013. For some reason, it hit me pretty hard. I know, weird, arbitrary number for a mid-life crisis, but that’s life. Right?

Tammy came to me about two weeks shy of The Day and asked what I wanted for my birthday. To which I responded, that I wanted her permission to leave. I needed to get away. I needed to go walkabout.

1391601_10101140469636593_349934953_n

This is that moment, the one that tells you you are loved: after nearly 11 years of marriage, my wife trusted me enough to let me go. Without knowing where. But then, I didn’t know either. There was no plan; there was no set itinerary. There was just Dusty, me, and the road. Any road. Nowhere to be, and plenty of time to get there…

1385445_10101140482106603_1934094100_n

What followed were four days of highway-induced healing, New Mexico-style. Here’s a tip: if you’re ever in need of a rest cure, go to Lindisfarne. And if you can’t afford the plane fare, go to New Mexico. It is the fix for what ails you, whoever you are: mountains, desert, the open plains–whatever gets your blood pumping, it’s there. Or, if you’re like me, and you love it all, well…welcome home.

Over the next few days, I’ll share a few adventures from my journey, along with some of the lessons I learned, beginning with how to live with myself in this life I’ve constructed. Sometimes you have to step outside of it all in order to remember how much you love being on the inside.

1385877_10101140471892073_1384246605_n

Two roads diverged in a wood. Cheers to Robert Frost for offering the best definition of life ever devised. But here’s the clue: it doesn’t matter which one you take…so long as you take it with open eyes and an open heart.

Happy travels, my friends!!
And even happier homecomings!!!

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ Outta Dodge

Leave a Reply

