Meet Me at Luigi’s

IMG_0300-1

I am a foodie trapped in a food-challenged town. Sure, new restaurants open on a fairly regular basis in Waco. New restaurants also close on a fairly regular basis. And those that survive are generally mega-chains, establishments defined by their establishmentarianism, that don’t push the taste buds too far beyond the confines of their wheelhouse. There has, admittedly, been a little movement on the food truck front lately, so there may be hope on the horizon. But still…

Case in point: Every year, the Waco Chamber of Commerce releases a publication titled Locals Love Us (and which I have not-so-lovingly dubbed Why I Hate Waco Magazine), rating local businesses by genre. This year, as in so many before, it did not fail to disappoint. In the category “Best Italian Food,” the people of Waco chose, as the second best Italian destination in town, a little place called Fazzoli’s. Which is not only not Italian; it’s barely even food.

Do you see what I’m working with here?!?

So, knowing that Luigi’s, in McGregor, Texas, is only a short fifteen minute drive from my front door comforts me greatly. In all my online wanderings, I have never found a bad review of this place (and we all know how rare that is). We have recommended it to friends, and they’ve become as addicted to it as we are. Owned and operated by a family of Kosovar immigrants, who came to the US by way of Italy, Luigi’s is heaven in the middle of nowhere.

IMG_0301-1

The meal always begins with fresh-baked rolls. So fresh that steam pours out when you break into them. I’m not generally an eater of rolls (which is, incidentally, how I bonded with my father-in-law; I gave him my roll, and proved myself worthy), but these rolls I love. I have to fight Tammy over them every time we go. She always wins. Must be genetic…

IMG_0303

My personal favorite is this lovely thing here: Luigi’s Favorite. They do this thing with the sauce, “cream sauce with a touch of marinara,” that’s perfection on a plate. And that goes over fettucine tossed with ham, sausage, chicken, black olives, and slightly pickled red peppers. (Purists can bite me; the pickling makes the dish, so far as I’m concerned.) If you visit Luigi’s, you gotta try this. Or, if you prefer a seafood option, there’s Tony’s Favorite, which is pretty much the same thing, just with…well…seafood: shrimp, mussels, scallops, and clams, over linguine.

There are other, equally tasty things to try, of course: Tammy’s partial to tortellini alla panna (she’s got a to-go box of it in the fridge right now, from our latest trip this past Friday night); they also make a respectable pizza, which I just recently tried for the first time, complete with wood-fired crust.

And then there’s dessert:

IMG_0305

Lovely cannoli with chocolate chip filling and nice, crispy shell. You can eat this with the spoon, but efficiency suggests just picking it up and munching away. Damn the decorum; full speed ahead!

IMG_0306

Then there’s the triple chocolate cheesecake. I have a friend (who just happens to be holding the plate in this photo) who always orders multiple slices of this one anytime we eat there together. He can do this, see, because he jogs everywhere he goes, presumably even in his sleep; if I did it, someone’d have to jog me to the emergency room. But it is good, so the indulgence is understandable.

Lately, though, there’s been competition:

IMG_0309

It’s like they say: like father, like daughter…

Luigi's

So, next time you’re driving through central Texas, stop and sample Luigi’s wares. It’s only twenty minutes off of I-35, so what’s your excuse? The true traveler is never in too much of a hurry for a bit of a delicious detour.

Buona sorte, my friends!!!

5 thoughts on “Meet Me at Luigi’s

Leave a Reply

