A Walk Among the Tombstones

233_556262822773_8404_n

I love to hang out in cemeteries. This really isn’t as morbid as it sounds (at least, I don’t think it is). It’s not that I’m obsessed with death. In fact, the exact opposite is true: I’m obsessed with life. Or with lives, really. Lives, and the stories that go with them. And, if the stories are unknown, with the mystery and romance of not knowing.

Since it is October, and Hallowe’en is fast approaching, I thought I’d offer up a collection of my favorite ghosts:

DSC_0923Linnie Crouch
Oak Hill Cemetery, Butler, Missouri
(World’s smallest tombstone, Ripley’s BoN)

DSC_0920Aubrey and Fern Durst
(grandparents)
Marvin and Opal Durst
(great-uncle and aunt)
Oak Hill Cemetery, Butler, Missouri

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
One of the many “lost” cemeteries
of Bates County, Missouri

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAForgotten, but not gone…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Arlington National Cemetery
Arlington, Virginia

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAArlington Golgotha

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Waiting…
Resthaven Memorial Park, Shawnee, Oklahoma

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Melrose Abbey, Melrose, UK

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
New Orleans, Lousiana

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOfferings

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATomb of Marie Laveau,
voodoo queen of New Orleans

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Henry and Mary Belle Cameron,
killed by the June cyclone, 1912
West Point Cemetery, Amsterdam, Missouri

DSC_0736
“Pals”
Billy the Kid
Fort Sumner, New Mexico

233_556262787843_6778_n

And all the rest, known, unknown…
a reminder that we are here, now, to live
NOW…
and then go.
A moment in time that we alone can fill
if we will…

Happy travels, my friends!!

4 thoughts on “A Walk Among the Tombstones

  1. JJ

    When I do the same, walk among the tombstones, or come across a memorial that may be a hundred years old, I always wish for more information. I wonder about the people, sometimes too much – if there is such a thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. World’s Smallest Tombstone? How strange a species we are.

    I’ve been reading about bodies after death recently. I can’t stop thinking about it. Fits the season, I suppose.

    Lost cemeteries…what a thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

