‘L’mentary, My Dear

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“Come, Watson, come!” he cried. “The game is afoot.”

– Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I’ll just say it: I’m not a huge fan of London. I’ve had a couple of adventures there (one that springs to mind is a fruitless two-mile hike through the rain on Christmas Day 2007, from Kings Cross to Trafalgar Square, for a Dickens walking tour that never happened, followed by a two-mile hike back the way we came); I’ve seen the requisite sights and made my obeisances at the usual shrines–the British Museum, Hyde Park, Westminster, etc. And I’m pretty much done with that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

221B Baker Street, though, was great fun. I first read the Holmes stories and novels when I was in high school, and I have loved them ever since. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo, sitting in Holmes’ chair, wearing his deerstalker and holding his pipe (and yes, I know he’s not real, really; but he’s real in my head) was a thrill a minute.

After a week and a half of thesis research, it was nice to let down our hair and goof off a bit. There weren’t a whole lot of people around during our visit, so we romped with impunity, inserting ourselves into the tableaux with gleeful abandon:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I met Moriarty (or Arty Morty, depending on who you ask):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And Tammy took a Victorian bathroom break:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, after a brief conversation with the Irregulars…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA …and a warm-up in the lounge…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…we bid adieu to the man himself and left him to deduce of us what he would.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy travels, my dear Watsons!

Leave a Reply

